See Me Write, See Me Struggle

the journey from first word to final book

Another Award!

on June 18, 2012

I woke up today feeling pretty crappy. I’m in one of those tired/rundown/ill kind of slumps. It’s annoying, I think it’s because the week ahead is going to be craptastic overall – Wednesday being a stocktake at work. I work in a cash and carry, giant warehouse full of stuff to count and check and double check … urg. Our boss reckons that we’ll be there until 8pm, and they want me to start at 10am. It’s going to be a long ass day on Wednesday.

But enough of that, I don’t want to post my melodramatic problems on this blog – at least, not when they have nothing to do with writing. So! To the award that I’ve been nominated for. Michelle Proulx nominated me for the Lucky 7 award! Here’s the rules:

  1. Go to the 7th or 77th page of your Work in progress.
  2. Go to the 7th line of the page.
  3. Copy the next 7 sentences or paragraphs. Remember, they must be as they are typed.
  4. Tag 7 authors.
  5. Let them know they’re it!

Okay, so I went to the 7th page of That’s Charming and the 77th page, and decided that the 7 sentences on the 77th page were sufficiently vague that I could post them here :

“What’s the matter?” he finally asked.

“Were you talking to someone there?” Caleb asked slowly.

“Yes, Kaida,” Charles replied.

“I see,” Caleb said, mild surprise crossing his face. “And she talks back?”

“Yes, since this morning,” Charles said. He felt uneasy under Caleb’s gaze, like he was doing something wrong.

“Since this morning?” Sheeba cut in. “Interesting.”

Charles saw them exchange a glance and narrowed his eyes.

Now I have to tag 7 authors? Umm, okay, let’s see …

  1. Matt Mesnard
  2. Electric Bubbles
  3. Chelsea
  4. Wanton Creation
  5. Pete Denton

Okay, I fully intended to do seven but there’s 5! Now to go tell these lovely folks that I’ve nominated them 🙂


3 responses to “Another Award!

  1. Congrats on getting this, and thanks again for nominating me! Interestingly when I did this last week, I couldn’t find an image for it, but I really like that image you’ve used, it looks really cool.
    Like your little excerpt too, it definitely is nice and vague. Mine wasn’t so much vague as just really really weird. 😛

  2. […] was awarded the Lucky 7 award by Mutantbee. A seven. Is that mockery? Well, I’ve changed all the 7′s to 4′s. So! […]

  3. Pete Denton says:

    I’ve just realised that I never thanked you for thinking of me when you passed out this award. I will post about this soon (ish), honest 🙂

Leave a comment